Genre: Coming of Age

Book Review : Illuminations

Book Review : Illuminations

Whenever I need a bit of a feel-good pick me-up story, I reach for a T. Kingfisher work—even if it’s horror. I just love the originality and eccentricity of her stories and Illuminations is no exception to this rule. Illuminations follows the youngest daughter, Rosa, of one of the most well-known and famous illuminator families. Illuminations are magically imbued drawings that serve specific purposes, like a drawing of a cat […]

Posted January 19, 2024 in Book Reviews, Fantasy
Divider

Book Review : Godkiller

Book Review : Godkiller

I finally got around to reading Godkiller and boy, am I glad that I did, as it’s become one of my favorite novels of the year, if not of all time. From the very first page of this debut fantasy novel, I was absolutely captivated by the world-building and the characters. Godkiller takes place in a bit of a post-apocalyptic world, if one considers a massive war between humans and […]

Posted December 7, 2023 in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Favorite Books
Divider

Book Review : Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch

Book Review : Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch

Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch is a delightful cozy fantasy for fans of Studio Ghibli’s Kiki’s Delivery Service, Patricia C. Wrede’s Enchanted Forest Chronicles, and Emily Rodda’s Star of Deltora series. If pure sunshine could be contained in a book, it would look like this. Much like Kiki’s Delivery Service, this middle grade novel follows Evalithimus “Eva” Evergreen as she strikes out alone on her first quest as a witch, one […]

Posted June 15, 2023 in Book Reviews, Fantasy
Divider

Book Review : A Day of Fallen Night

Book Review : A Day of Fallen Night

  When I found out there was another entry in The Roots of Chaos series releasing, I was absolutely ecstatic. The first novel in this series, The Priory of the Orange Tree, is one of my favorite novels of all time, so I was beyond excited to return to this world once again. A Day of Fallen Night takes place before the events of The Priory of the Orange Tree […]

Posted March 10, 2023 in Book Reviews, Fantasy
Divider

Book Review: When Women Were Dragons

Book Review: When Women Were Dragons

Have you ever read a book that you didn’t know you needed in your life until you read it? That was my experience with When Women Were Dragons, which so effortlessly and eloquently captured the unique experience of being a woman, with all of its societal challenges, that my soul felt soothed. Added to this much-needed perspective, which chronicles the struggle of being a young woman in the 1950s, is […]

Posted March 15, 2022 in Book Reviews, Fantasy
Divider