Genre: Science Fiction

Book Review : These Burning Stars

Book Review : These Burning Stars

Ever since reading The Blighted Stars and its recent follow-up, The Fractured Dark, I have been determined to break out of my predilection for the fantasy genre and to try to read more science fiction. When I read the blurb for These Burning Stars, a science fiction novel centering on three very different women out for revenge, I knew I had found my next science fiction read. And boy, am […]

Posted September 21, 2023 in ARCS, Book Reviews, Fantasy, Science Fiction
Divider

Book Review : Emperor of Ruin

Book Review : Emperor of Ruin

  Emperor of Ruin is the fast-paced and gripping conclusion of the Burningblade and Silvereye trilogy. I was so happy to return to this unique fantasy world, which somehow always manages to feel like the consummate blend of both science fiction and fantasy, and is perfect for fans of Star Wars and Arcane. The two previous entries of the trilogy saw Maya and Gyre—powerful siblings separated at a young age and […]

Posted February 22, 2023 in ARCS, Book Reviews, Fantasy, Science Fiction
Divider

Book Review : The Daughter of Doctor Moreau

Book Review : The Daughter of Doctor Moreau

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau is the third book I’ve read by author Silvia Moreno-Garcia, the other two being Mexican Gothic and Certain Dark Things, and I honestly have to say that this is my new favorite of her works. A new take on H.G. Wells’s The Island of Doctor Moreau, the novel follows the eponymous daughter of Doctor Moreau, Carlota, as she grows up on an isolated island, where […]

Posted May 20, 2022 in Book Reviews, Science Fiction
Divider

Book Review : The Iron Widow

Book Review : The Iron Widow

Hearing the hype about Iron Widow, and loving the idea of the story, which marketing boldly proclaimed is Pacific Rim meets A Handmaid’s Tale, I picked up this young adult novel. To put it bluntly, Iron Widow, and books like it, are the very reason I have mostly stopped reading young adult novels. In a nutshell, Iron Widow reads worse than some Wattpad stories, and despite having a good core […]

Posted January 17, 2022 in Book Reviews, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Divider

Book Review : Cytonic

Book Review : Cytonic

Cytonic is the follow-up to Skyward and Starsight, and like its predecessors, Cytonic follows pilot Spensa on a new journey. Unfortunately, this new adventure very much felt like filler for both the series and for Spensa, and I found myself really having to push to finish the novel. Even though Cytonic was very on brand for the series, featuring a lot of the same humor, a new group of ragtag […]

Posted December 7, 2021 in Book Reviews, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Divider