Tag: book review

Book Review : Emperor of Ruin

Book Review : Emperor of Ruin

  Emperor of Ruin is the fast-paced and gripping conclusion of the Burningblade and Silvereye trilogy. I was so happy to return to this unique fantasy world, which somehow always manages to feel like the consummate blend of both science fiction and fantasy, and is perfect for fans of Star Wars and Arcane. The two previous entries of the trilogy saw Maya and Gyre—powerful siblings separated at a young age and […]

Posted February 22, 2023 in ARCS, Book Reviews, Fantasy, Science Fiction
Divider

Book Review : The Good Dog

Book Review : The Good Dog

Ever read My Dog Skip? How about Shiloh or Where the Red Fern Grows or a lesser known book called Scruffy? Or god forbid, Old Yeller? These books are all children’s books and also all about dogs, but they’re also about dog abuse and dog death. They’re about grief and circumstances outside of a child’s control. Raise your hand if you were a young kid and ever picked up one […]

Posted November 30, 2022 in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Favorite Books
Divider

Book Review : Gideon the Ninth

Book Review : Gideon the Ninth

Gideon the Ninth is honestly unlike anything I’ve ever read. It’s perhaps one of the weirdest mixes of space, magic, murder mystery, and dystopian society in a book ever. Though I struggled to get into it, the sarcastic humor of titular character Gideon, and her amazing relationship with her friend/rival/enemy Harrow, combined with the sheer originality of the content was what sucked me into the novel.   Gideon the Ninth […]

Posted July 13, 2020 in Book Reviews, Fantasy
Divider

Book Review : Kind of a Big Deal

Book Review : Kind of a Big Deal

Ever start a book and know it just isn’t for you? That was Kind of a Big Deal for me. I was drawn to the book due to the concept of the main character, 17 year-old Josie “Pie” Sergakis jumping into actual books and becoming part of the story. Who hasn’t wanted to do that? I certainly loved it in Austenland. But unfortunately, no matter what role in any story […]

Posted July 6, 2020 in Book Reviews, Young Adult
Divider

Book Review : Part-Time Gods

Book Review : Part-Time Gods

It pains me to say this, but I think Part-Time Gods is one of my least favorite novels written by Rachel Aaron. Don’t get me wrong, Part-Time Gods had plenty of great stuff, the characterization of the god of the Detroit-Free Zone, a swoon-worthy main love interest, interesting magical systems, and returns of familiar favorite characters from Nice Dragons Finish Last. So why did I dislike Part-Time Gods so much? […]

Posted June 5, 2020 in Book Reviews, Fantasy
Divider