The Official Spooky Season Book Tag

The Official Spooky Season Book Tag

I can’t believe it’s spooky season again. I absolutely love doing tags for Halloween, as you can probably tell from all of my other posts, and when I saw how creative the questions on The Official Spooky Season Book Tag was, I knew I had to do it!

 

The rules:

  • Tag the original creator (The Artsy Reader)
  • Use the official banner
  • Answer the prompts and questions
  • Tag 5 people
  • Have fun and get spooky!!!

 

Question 1: You hear a strange noise in the night – the monsters got inside! Which book character would you choose to protect you from harm?

 

Geralt of Rivia, I feel like that man could handle anything and would go above and beyond to protect the people he loves.

 

Question 2: You go on vacation and your hotel is located right next to a cemetery. Which book character do you really hope is not hiding in the shadows?

 

Pennywise, hands down. I hate, hate, HATE clowns, and he’s truly the worst. I never even made it past the prologue of It.

 

Question 3: It’s a particularly cold night and you decide to stay inside. Which three book characters would you like to spend a trivia quiz and board game night with?

 

Emily Wilde of Emily Wilde’s Encyclopaedia of Faeries would be fantastic at faerie trivia and an asset on the team. Theodora “Dora” Ettings from Half a Soul and Fern from Bookshops & Bonedust would make for a great girls’ night. 

 

Question 4: Time for a big adventure! The scary book you pick transports you into its world. Where do you end up?

 

Small Spaces by Katherine Arden. It’s been awhile since I read the book, but I remember the corn fields like it was yesterday. Or Sorcery of Thorns, which isn’t technically scary, but It just screams “fall,” to me with its magical libraries, cursed books, and demon servants.

 

Question 5: No Halloween without Trick or Treating! Which book character do you think has the sweetest tooth?

 

I have to say Maylee from Bookshops & Bonedust because the descriptions of her recipes from her bakery were so decadent.

 

Question 6: The fairies are angry and want a sacrifice from your bookshelf. Which scary book has to go and why?

 

This is a tough question because I just don’t read that much horror anymore. I guess I’d say maybe The Last House on Needless Street because while I really enjoyed the twist ending, I don’t think I’d ever reread it now that I know the secret.

 

Question 7: You decide you feel more autumnal rather than halloween-y today. Which book setting would you choose for a more cozy and less scary vibe?

 

Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch, which is perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli films, like Kiki’s Delivery Service. Another great cozy read is The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches. 

 

Question 8: The witch is cooking up a spell in her cauldron and you have to add one magic ingredient. Which item from a book are you adding to the mixture?

 

Literally the only thing that comes to mind is the The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witcheswhere main character, witch Mika, brews her own potions. In one potion, she even uses stardust as an ingredient.

 

Question 9: You get to decide which bookish place to visit for Halloween. Which book setting is the scariest – and get crossed off the list?

 

In T. Kingfisher’s The Twisted Ones, main character mouse ends up in the realm of the faeries, which might sound lovely, but is actually absolutely terrifying. So that’s gonna be a hard no from me.

 

Question 10: The big day is finally here: it’s Halloween! Which book character do you dress up as, and what would be part of your outfit?

Perhaps Ciri or Yennefer from The Witcher or Karigan G’ladheon from The Green Rider series. 

 

 

And that’s the tag! I’m not going to tag anyone in this, but if you love books and Halloween, and feel like participating, consider yourself tagged!

 

 

Divider

Posted October 19, 2023 in Book Reviews, Halloween tags, Tags

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “The Official Spooky Season Book Tag

Geek Out:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.